The Official Iced Earth Website




ICED EARTH mastermind Jon Schaffer has embarked on what could be the most epic-proportioned metal release so far in the new century. Taking the band’s classic “Something Wicked” trilogy, re-recording it, and then recording two albums telling the story in its’ entirety.

The single 'Overture Of The Wicked' will be released on June 4th in UK and Europe and June 5th in the USA/Canada. This will be followed by some exclusive European festival performances leading up to the release of the first of two studio albums called Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1) which will be released in September. The second album concluding the Something Wicked story will be released in early 2008. Schaffer agrees that, “It’s a bit Star Wars - with multiple parts and a long timeframe. The original trilogy is just an overview of the story that begins 12,000 years ago and leads us to modern day. You should look at the trilogy as an introduction to this whole epic. What is coming next in the two album parts is a far more in depth look into this very tragic, heavy and apocalyptic sci-fi/fantasy story.”

The 'Overture Of The Wicked' single is the re-recorded version of that trilogy and the first single 'Ten Thousand Strong' which will appear on Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1) “albeit a bit different than the single version” says Shaffer. The re-recording of the trilogy is exclusive to this single, which clocks in at a total of just over 22 minutes. "For those of you that aren't familiar with the old version or the "Something Wicked" story at all, you should check it out.” says Schaffer. “The "Something Wicked" trilogy is comprised of the songs 'Prophecy', 'Birth Of The Wicked', and 'The Coming Curse' and has been completely rerecorded. From the ground up this is a more vicious and more atmospheric version of the epic piece. I played all of the guitar tracks with a baritone guitar and Brent [Smedley, drums] and I are locked up like a machine gun with the double kicks following many of the detailed picking patterns. This makes for a more intense- and wicked-sounding rhythm section. All of the vocals have been redone, obviously by Tim Owens, who did a masterful job at retaining the passion and honesty of the original, and still put his stamp on it and made it his own. We also put in some teaser atmospheric things that will give you a hint of things to come on PART 1. But just a hint... we don't want to spoil any surprises.”

'Overture Of The Wicked' as well as the two studio albums have been recorded at Schaffer’s Soaring Eagle Sound studio and mixed and mastered by Jim Morris at Morrissound.

The upcoming releases have also spawned a lot of movement on the live side. European festivals and a confirmed 10 date UK run with HEAVEN AND HELL, to be preceded and followed by more touring both in Europe and North America are all in the cards.

Some dates are:

6, 7 - Sweden Rock Festival - Sölvesborg, Sweden

1, 2, 3 - RockWave Festival - Malakasa, Greece

2, 3, 4 - Wacken Festival - Wacken, Germany

Supporting Heaven And Hell:

04 - Metro Radio Arena - Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
06 - SECC - Glasgow, Scotland
07 - Hallam FM Arena - Sheffield, UK
09 - Manchester Evening News Arena - Manchester, UK
10 - Wembley Arena - London, UK
11 - Centre - Brighton, UK
13 - NEC - Birmingham, UK
14 - International Arena - Cardiff, UK
15 - Arena - Nottingham, UK
17 - Pavilions - Plymouth, UK
18 - BIC - Bournemouth, UK