The Glorious Burden

The Glorious Burden

After spending much of their career focusing on dark fantasy and similar themes, The Glorious Burden marks a turn towards reality for Iced Earth. The album specifically covers events in world history, and because history is often defined by conflict and tragedy, the tone remains just as dark, epic, and powerful as previous works from the band. The album goes as far back as the fifth century A.D. with Atilla the Hun's ravages across Europe, and as far forward as the terrorist attacks in America in 2001. In between, there is the American Revolution ("Declaration Day", "Valley Forge"), the Napoleonic Wars ("Waterloo"), and World War I ("Red Baron/Blue Max"). The album's centerpiece, however, is "Gettysburg (1863)", a three-part, 32-minute epic that tells the tale of the defining battle of the American Civil War. Backed up with a full orchestra and led by the vocals of new singer Tim Owens (ex-Judas Priest), the music portrays the tremendous power and emotion that must have been present when those two great armies clashed, with the fate of a nation hanging in the balance. Taken as a whole, The Glorious Burden proves that some of our most amazing and resonant stories come not from the imagination of mankind, but rather, from our real-life deeds, for good and ill, throughout all of human history.


Disc 1:

  1. The Star-Spangled Banner [Music: Francis Scott Key]
  2. Declaration Day [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  3. When the Eagle Cries [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  4. The Reckoning (Don't Tread On Me) [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  5. Greenface [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  6. Attila [Schaffer/Barlow]
  7. Red Baron/Blue Max [Music: Schaffer. Lyrics: Owens]
  8. Hollow Man [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  9. Valley Forge [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  10. Waterloo [Schaffer/Barlow]
  11. When the Eagle Cries (Unplugged) [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]

Disc 2 - Gettysburg (1863):

  1. The Devil to Pay [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  2. Hold At All Costs [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]
  3. High Water Mark [Music/Lyrics: Schaffer]


  • Jon Schaffer | Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Tim Owens | Lead Vocals
  • James MacDonnough | Bass Guitar
  • Richard Christy | Drums

Additional Information:

Morrisound Studios - Tampa, Florida.
Produced by Jim Morris and Jon Schaffer.

Artwork by Leo Hao and Todd Brown. Iced Earth logo designed by Jon Schaffer.

Additional information on this release including guest musicians can be found in the jackets and sleeves accompanying the officially released CD/vinyl copies.